My year 2013 in Photos

Over the Christams Season and New Years I was on Tenerife taking a braek after a pretty workful time end of the year. Workwise it has been a very succesful year with many exhibitions, the scholarship in Turkey and not to forget the big feature on ARTE.

Here a little timeline of some of my favourite events in 2013 – businesswise and private… and also some “thank yous” to the people, who made it special.

: :

New studio space in Berlin in March
20130226_9289

20130312_9369
After moving back from Mallorca to Berlin in december 2012 I had a far too small studio and was really happy to find this new space through a colleague and friend of mine. Thanks Clara!

: :

Finishing my new webpage in April
Bild 5
That was neccessary after 7 years of the same design – it needed to be cleaner and brighter. Thanks to Daniel Westerlund for the help.

: :

Birthday picnic with friends at Cala Llombards on Mallorca in April
IMG_0249
I was on Mallorca for the Opening of my exhibition at Viena and we celebrated my birthday together with a big picnic on white blankets. It was a beautiful sunny day. Thank you Dagmar for all the preparation of the food 😉

: :

Opening at Viena on Mallorca in April
1_20130402_9877

1_20130402_9926
So many people showed up to see the new collection of art pieces at Viena in Cas Concos. Thank you Franco!
More photos here: https://polabraendle.wordpress.com/2013/04/05/beautiful-opening-at-viena/

: :

At Son Vent visiting good friends in April

IMG_0199
Son Vent is a beautiful hotel on Mallorca, one of my favourite places on the planet. If you really need a rest at some point – go there! http://www.son-vent.de/

: :

Art Palma Brunch – making new friends in April
IMG_0233
I went there with some people that I got to know a few days before and by the end of the day I called them friends. We had a very nice and interessting day in Palma and I showed them all the gallery spaces. A few month later I visited them in their hometown Hamburg and they showed me their city. Nice to meet you G & R.

: :

A fantastic hike in Italy in May

IMG_0555
No photos available. Sorry!

: :

Many beautiful moments with people on our rooftop in Berlin
IMG_0419
In Berlin we have rooftop to climb on. I spend many hours sitting in the sun, drinking wine, chatting with friends up there. Can’t wait for the spring to arrive!

: :

Open Studios Berlin in June
1_20130601_0331
All about it: https://polabraendle.wordpress.com/2013/05/15/offene-ateliers-in-berlin-am-1-juni/

: :

White Dinner Berlin in June
IMG_0743
A big group dinner with foreigners – and after 2 hours it is all over. The date is set month in advance, but the place you just find out shortly before the event. Everyone comes in white clothes and with white tables, chairs, plates, decoration… and maybe even food. It is like arriving in heaven…

: :

France Summer Tour in Juli and August
IMG_0941

60391_564288223633877_930063330_n
Some more photos: https://polabraendle.wordpress.com/2013/08/16/summer-tour-2013/

: :

Hike in the Sandsteingebirge near Dresden in August
IMG_1164
I went to the OSTRALE with one of my colleagues from the studio. The exhibition wasn’t very good or interessting so we took the second day and went for a big hike – and that was lovely! Thank you Brigitte for the nice trip.

: :

Schoolarship in Turkey in September
Foto-20

DAVET_Yalova Bienali
Article about me picking posters: https://polabraendle.wordpress.com/2013/09/08/posters-in-yalova/
The exhibition: https://polabraendle.wordpress.com/2013/10/14/opening-group-exhibition-at-yalova-biennial/
My time in Turkey: https://polabraendle.wordpress.com/2013/10/01/my-time-in-yalova/

: :

Finishing Luke Wilsons Portrait In October
From Monster to Men
Go to the whole article here: https://polabraendle.wordpress.com/2013/07/04/my-tribute-to-luke/

: :

Charity Auction at Berlinische Galerie in November
IMG_2025
It was a charity auction for “Berliner Telefonseelsorge” and my picture was sold for more than the gallery price, which was a great success… and fun to watch.

: :

Video Portrait by PoEm Media
Bild 11
It is the first proper video portrait that was done about me and my work. Thanks to PoEm Media and Emil Lamprecht. Watch the video here: http://vimeo.com/79074756

: :

Solo Exhibition at 3 Punts Galerie in November
1_20131114_2864
It was my biggest and most important exhibition so far. Thank you to Erika and Stefan, to Rob, Charles and of course to Emil. More photos here: https://polabraendle.wordpress.com/2013/11/18/big-opening-at-3-punts-berlin/

: :

Arte Feature in November
Bild 12

Bildschirmfoto 2014-01-21 um 01.03.39
When arte called to tell me that they would like to make a feature about me and my art for their programm metropolis, I first couldn’t believe it. Thank you to Anna, Karsten, Tobias and Michael. Watch the feature here: http://www.arte.tv/de/plakat-collagen-von-pola-braendle/7714966,CmC=7713154.html

: :

PAN Amsterdam and visiting old friends
IMG_2065
A friend from university had his work represented on the PAN Amsterdam and asked me to join him for the Opening. What a crazy Artfair. Thank you Michael for taking me there!

IMG_2118
In Amsterdam we visited another friend from univerity… and in the end we reunited our old “house” after 10 years. It was one of the most special moments last year and I hope to see you all soon again!

: :

At the coast in November
IMG_2178
Thank you Rinus for the nice days in Gent and at the coast of Knocke… and the yummy food.

: :

Open Studios Berlin in December
IMG_2213
Read more here: https://polabraendle.wordpress.com/2013/12/09/open-studios/

: :

Holiday on Tenerife in December
IMG_2289

IMG_2368

IMG_2691
Finally taking a rest after a crazy and busy year. I hope the next year will be as successful, but a bit less busy. Mainly I want to go traveling, visit old friends, exhibit my work in other countries and have fun!

I wish you all a happy and healthy year. may all your wishes come true!

Leave a Reply

