Art Love New York – Art Fair

10451778_426719747488396_1871611701075782299_n

Woooohooooooo – finally NYC!!!

The upcoming week May 13-17 three of my pictures will be shown in an international group exhibition at the Art Fair Art Loves New York. Maybe you are there for the Art Fairs anyway or you have friends and family who you could send along to attend the Opening or see the Show on one of the other days.

: :

Art Love New York // International Group Exhibition
May 13-17, 2015
345, Broome Street, NYC
Opening May 13th, 6-9pm
Daily 11am – 9pm
Info@artlovenewyork.com

More information on their webpage:
http://www.artlovenewyork.com

: :

Following the success of March’s preview show, Art Love New York is pleased to annouce the second edition of its annual global art exhibitions series, taking place in lower Manhattan on May 13-17, 2015.
ALNY is a contemporary art platform/fair showcasing artists & galleries from around the globe twice a year in pop up venues.
This May, Art Love New York will be showcasing a selection of artists from various nationalities and artistic backgrounds, presenting eclectic works utilizing diverse technical styles, including:
– Pola Brändle, Germany’s contemporary decollage artist.
– Indra Setrawan, Indonesian’s pop revolutionary painter.
– Audrée Anid, American/Lebanese artist specializing in mixed-media, photography.
– Pham Huy Thong, Vietnam’s renowned political satire painter.
– Marwan Nahle, Broad based artist presenting his latest experimental video works.
– Sebastian de Lancey, Trinidadian mixed-media structural painter
– Chicago-based artist “Chicagokim,” who specializes in constructionist sculptures.
– George Lilanga, Tanzania’s late & beloved, whimsical artist.
– Oussamah Ghandour, Brooklyn based abstract painter.
– Christopher Carr, Brooklyn-based indie photographer and artist.

: :

Here is a little interview the did with me last week.

1) Can you tell us a bit about your background? What would you want ArtLoveNewYork’s visitors/viewers to know about where you’re from?
I was born in Aachen, Germany and since primary school I always wanted to become an artist. After graduating from high school with art as one of my advanced courses, I joined the Maastricht Academy of Fine Arts and owned my Bachelor of Design in 2003.
During my studies I developed my artistic photographic potentials and discovered the fascination of posters and their artistic opportunities for further editing. After living in Portsmouth, Berlin and Lisbon, I moved to the Mediterranean island of Mallorca. In 2012 I returned to Berlin where I currently live and work.

2) How would you describe your style or art practice? What is your process?
It could be best described as urban art – but not street art – inspired by coincidence, decay and my daily life. I travel a lot and while being on the road, I capture every impression. For me traveling is the greatest source of inspiration.

3) Describe your biggest success — how did it feel?
That’s a difficult question as I always try to make small steps to avoid being too disappointed if something doesn’t work. Progression needs time and I attempt to not jump the gun. But if you ask me, one of my biggest steps or success was probably the publication of my photo book “Plakatief – A World in Mayers” which was also nominated for the German Photo Book Award in 2012.

4) What art do you love?
I love happy and positive art. There’s loads of art which I appreciate but at the same time is exhausting to look at or comprehend. In my opinion art should convey a good feeling and you should love to be surrounded with it.

5) Does NYC mean or represent anything to you? If so, what?
NY is such a creative, inspiring and diverse city and I’m really glad to have the opportunity presenting my artworks there as I think they fit quite well into the American art market. It would be amazing if – someday – a renowned gallery would be interested in displaying my work.

6) What would you advise a budding artist, or a young person considering the arts?
It’s a tough business so never give up. Work hard, believe in what you’re doing and be yourself.

7) What are your current or future plans/projects?
I currently have a solo exhibition at 3 Punts Gallery in Berlin and my work will be part of different group shows in Spain, Turkey, Iceland and Germany later this year.

Leave a Reply

